Should I use a VPN to improve connection

User's Guides & Help forum.
i_cezar
User lv3
User lv3
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 0:53
in-game nick: Blaze

Should I use a VPN to improve connection

Post by i_cezar »

Hello,
I have a question: I've been looking into starting using a vpn to play on unfreeze servers. Do you guys recommend any?
Lately, meaning for the last 2 years approximatively(been playing for ~3 years) I've been experiencing an issue with my connection. When I first started playing, the game was really good in regards to how it was feeling, mostly hit detection. So I enjoyed the game more then. My ping was about 75 at the time. Then at some point, after about a year it didn't feel the same anymore, even if the ping got lower to about 40-50. I knew something changed, but I don't see on this forum nothing related to server change at that specific time. I must mention my internet provider is the same for the last 6 years. So lately it got a little worse: shots go trough people's body with 0 dmg. It's a bit frustrating.
Thanks

User avatar
adminless
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1902
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 19:05
in-game nick: not available
Location: Vigo (Spain)

Re: Should I use a VPN to improve connection

Post by adminless »

I highly doubt what you're describing has anything to do with your connection but rather with a miss-configured broken (here) custom installation. first I'd suggest to make sure that you aren't using any other value than 0 for your cl_timenudge (i.e. do \cl_timenudge 0). if that doesn't make it then I'd just try resetting the whole game (i.e. deleting the q3config.cfg file provided that's the cfg file on your installment). at last as I think that I suggested you other times I'd strongly advise you to try with some of the provided packages here that are tested and proven to work, either ioq3v6-unfreeze-client-v20.5a.zip for classic 32 bits installations or fpsclasico-client-community-edition.zip for a newer 64 bits community based installation. they are independent so it's highly recommended to have them both installed anyways just in case. all it takes is just to copy your pak0.pk3 file inside the baseq3 folder of those and double click some of the executables.

alyeti
User lv5
User lv5
Posts: 368
Joined: Sat Oct 21, 2017 16:09
in-game nick: !WTF.Pacman!?
Location: u.k

Re: Should I use a VPN to improve connection

Post by alyeti »

adminless wrote:
Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:10
I highly doubt what you're describing has anything to do with your connection but rather with a miss-configured broken (here) custom installation.
As always I like how you get to the point , no messing about

i_cezar
User lv3
User lv3
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 0:53
in-game nick: Blaze

Re: Should I use a VPN to improve connection

Post by i_cezar »

Ok I did what you said, thanks for the answer! Game does feel better now(for example, rail shoots exactly where i point it to when i flick it, before it shot a bit behind; also the general feel). Weird thing is when I started using these packages or each time when I switch to a new config file(i tried some configs of players of the community) the game runs very smoothly, like in LAN almost! I say "Wow, this is the config i was looking for!" but each time after a couple of maps played it goes to normal, which is still an improvement and something considerably better with the new packages. I just wondered if you know or heard of a similar behavior logic implementation in game net code or what is it that causes this. It's like the game does some adjustments to itself after a time(and the player is like drawn into the future on my side, so i have to direct the shot a bit back especially when player jumps/moves faster). I don't know, this might look weird but i'm not imagining it, happens every time i reinstall the game or switch to a new config file. Anyway i will stick to the packages you provided, the improvements are there. I played with time nudge in the past, but i'm ok for now i left it default.

User avatar
adminless
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1902
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 19:05
in-game nick: not available
Location: Vigo (Spain)

Re: Should I use a VPN to improve connection

Post by adminless »

no, I can tell you that there's nothing in the code that intentionally says "after a few games then fuck up the game". other than that, probably first try with stock setting before getting in fancy cfgs (i.e. try the packages as-is first) and this may sound dumb but may be try playing with the computer case open as to improve refrigeration and disable power saving options on your operative system and run fans/cpu/gpu on a high performance profile. additionally you can also try if you experience the same behavior on the lowend version of the ioq3v6 package which generally could be more stable under some circumstances. hope that helps.