new ioq3v6-unfreeze-client-v20.5.zip package is out now, please get yourself a copy and update your installation for best and complete experience.

UnFreeZe Game Servers Downloads & Documentation

UnFreeZe/FreeFUn/glacius Game Servers forum.
LeopolD
User lv1
User lv1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 15:43

Re: UnFreeZe Game Servers Downloads & Documentation

Post by LeopolD »

After being away for a few months I started playing again and today downloaded and installed the new package ioq3v6-unfreeze-client-v20.5.zip, unzipped it and stuffed pak0.pk3 in. Started just fine with everything set up quite nicely. Good job again, especially on the /exec training[12], that is very handy to check out settings etc.

A few points:
a) This is on a linux machine, I did _not_ cleanup $HOME/.q3a/unfreeze which contained a q3config.cfg (I don't use any autoexec mechanism in baseq3 or unfreeze), however on startup it overwrote my binds and also set some strange resolution (easy enough to fix, so np). I think it at least import the binds from an existing config, would be an even nicer package.
b) Wishlist: call me a nerd, but I like to have a knob for 250 fps since my monitor runs at 240hz. With 200 fps the difference is barely noticable with high picmip, however with picmip 0-1 it is a little unsmooth.
c) I had no teamoverlay (playing on unfreeze.fpsclasico.de) nor did I see health/armor when pointing at teammates, is that expected (I had cg_teamoverlay2 "1" in the existing q3config.cfg in $HOME/.q3a/unfreeze).
d) Your (very good) models appear darker and more affected by light sources etc (just like baseq3 models) with quake3e (an alternate engine), is there a way to fix that or an engine limitation/enhancement?)

User avatar
adminless
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 1254
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2016 19:05
in-game nick: not available
Location: Vigo (Spain)

Re: UnFreeZe Game Servers Downloads & Documentation

Post by adminless »

under normal circumstances (i.e. unless you force it) it won't touch anything on ~/.q3a or old cfgs. this is so to prevent issues from crossing different installations/files. I want people to get a fresh start with the package. the command for the team overlay is "\cg_drawTeamOverlay 1" (default normal command btw) and as of now there's no support for extra in-game overlay info, sorry about that. the model fixed light is a engine feature not a mod feature therefor that requires using the ioq3v6 (with \r_fixedlight 153 for example or another value) to work. by concept it won't work on other engines just like that (i.e. that entirely depends on the engine).

on the past was tried to run the game at more than 200 fps and it resulted in degraded overall network/gameplay performance, therefor it was capped to 200 fps as the best option. if 200 doesn't sync good with your hardware you can try "\com_framelimiter vq3". that will give classic vq3 fps which may sync a little better for you particularly.

LeopolD
User lv1
User lv1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 18, 2019 15:43

Re: UnFreeZe Game Servers Downloads & Documentation

Post by LeopolD »

Thanks for all the info, will try the cg_drawteamoverlay 1.

\com_framelimiter vq3 will give 125 fps which looks like a slideshow on a 240hz screen:) 200 fps is ok with picmip 5 so I'll use that.